Leagues Cup today announced the schedule for the tournament’s 2023 group stage, revealing the dates and location for Austin FC’s first matches in the inaugural edition of the competition.

2023 Leagues Cup Group Stage Matches at Q2 Stadium
Friday, July 21
Austin FC vs. Mazatlán FC
Q2 Stadium
Tuesday, July 25
Mazatlán FC vs. FC Juárez
Q2 Stadium
Saturday, July 29
Austin FC vs. FC Juárez
Q2 Stadium

In January, Austin was drawn in a group alongside Liga MX clubs Mazatlán FC and FC Juárez. All three (3) of the group’s matches will take place at Q2 Stadium. The Verde & Black will face Mazatlán on July 21 and Juárez on July 29, with Mazatlán and Juárez competing in the group’s other match on July 25.

Leagues Cup also unveiled the schedule for the tournament’s knockout rounds. The Round of 32 will be played August 2-4, the Round of 16 August 6-8, the quarterfinals August 11-12, and the semifinals on August 15. The final and third-place match will both take place August 19.


All Leagues Cup matches will be available to watch via MLS Season Pass on Apple TV. Select matches will feature linear television broadcasts, with kickoff times and other broadcast details to be announced at a later date.


Tickets to Austin FC’s Leagues Cup group stage matches vs. Mazatlán and Juárez are included in Austin FC Season Ticket Memberships. Season Ticket Members have access to a ticket pre-sale for the Mazatlán vs. Juárez match until tickets go on-sale to the public at 10 a.m. CT on Friday, March 10.

Oak Collective Waitlist members also have access to a ticket pre-sale window for all three group matches to be played at Q2 Stadium until 10 a.m. CT on Friday, March 10.

More About Leagues Cup

Leagues Cup is a new, first-of-its-kind tournament featuring all 29 MLS and 18 Liga MX clubs. Both leagues will pause their respective seasons for the month-long event beginning on Friday, July 21 with the final taking place on Saturday, August 19.

The tournament will be played across the U.S. and Canada. The champion, as well as the second and third place finishers, will qualify for the Concacaf Champions League and the opportunity to earn a spot in the FIFA Club World Cup.

The inaugural edition of the new competition features 15 groups consisting of three (3) teams. Teams in each group will play each other once at the home venue of the group’s seeded MLS team, with the top two (2) teams from each group advancing to the knockout rounds. Liga MX champions CF Pachuca and MLS champions Los Angeles FC receive byes directly to the knockout rounds.

Matches cannot end in a tie with League Cup’s unique format. In the event a group stage match is tied at the end of 90 minutes, both teams receive one (1) point. The winner of the ensuing penalty shootout receives an additional point.