2023 Season

Austin FC To Host New Mexico United in 2023 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Round of 32


U.S. Soccer conducted the Round of 32 Draw for the 2023 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup on Thursday and announced that Austin FC will host USL Championship club New Mexico United at Q2 Stadium. The match will kick off at 8:00 p.m. CT on Wednesday, May 10, with broadcast details to be announced once available.

Single match tickets for the Round of 32 match are available now on austinfc.com. Season Ticket Members of the Oak Collective receive tickets for up to two (2) U.S. Open Cup home matches (excluding Semifinal and Final) included in their membership, and tickets for the match against New Mexico have already been added to their SeatGeek accounts.

Austin FC vs. New Mexico United

Austin FC vs. New Mexico United

The Verde & Black host New Mexico in the 2023 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Round of 32 at Q2 Stadium.

The U.S. Open Cup is a historic American soccer tournament first played in 1914, which sees teams from professional, semi-pro, and amateur levels compete against one another in a single-elimination format. Austin FC enters the 2023 edition of the tournament in the Round of 32, alongside seven (7) other Major League Soccer teams who received byes through the Third Round due to their 2022 regular season performance in Major League Soccer play.

That group of eight (8) teams is joined by 16 other MLS teams and eight (8) USL Championship teams. In total, ATXFC will need to win five (5) matches to win the Open Cup. Draws are conducted for each round to determine matchups. The winner of the Open Cup receives a berth in the 2024 Concacaf Champions League, prize money, and the prestigious Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup trophy.

Many of Austin FC’s coaches and players have experience in the Open Cup. Head Coach Josh Wolff and Academy General Manager Tyson Wahl each won the Open Cup three (3) times as players, while Assistant Coach Davy Arnaud, defender Adam Lundkvist, and forward Maxi Urruti won it once each, with Urruti scoring twice in the 2016 final.