Austin FC Qualifies for 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League


Concacaf – the continental governing body of soccer in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean – today announced that Austin FC has qualified for the 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League (CCL). The CCL is the premier professional soccer competition in the region, pitting the best teams from domestic leagues in Concacaf member nations against one another in a knockout tournament format.

With Sunday’s results in the Audi 2022 MLS Cup Playoffs, Austin FC is now guaranteed to occupy a CCL qualification spot by finishing as the best eligible team in the MLS Supporters’ Shield standings not already qualified for the tournament via another mechanism.

“Qualifying for the Concacaf Champions League has been a goal for Austin FC since we started competing two years ago,” said Austin FC Sporting Director Claudio Reyna. “We look forward to matching up alongside the best teams from North America, Central America, and the Caribbean.”

Austin FC will compete in the 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League by entering the knockout tournament in the Round of 16. Each CCL tie takes place over two (2) legs – one home and one away – with the winner determined by aggregate score across the two (2) matches.

Austin FC’s Round of 16 opponent will be revealed via the competition’s official draw on November 7, 2022. The tournament will run concurrently with the 2023 Major League Soccer regular season, beginning the second week of March, and concluding with the second leg of the final on Sunday, June 4, 2023.

The full list of teams qualified for the 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League is as follows:

  • United States (4): Austin FC, Los Angeles FC, Philadelphia Union, Orlando City SC
  • Mexico (4): Club León, Atlas, Pachuca, Tigres
  • Honduras (3): Real España, Olimpia, Motagua
  • Haiti (1): Violette AC
  • Canada (1): Vancouver Whitecaps
  • Costa Rica (1): Alajuelense
  • El Salvador (1): Alianza
  • Panama (1): Tauro

For more information on the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League, click here.