2021 Season

Austin FC Midfielder Diego Fagundez and Designated Player Sebastián Driussi Named to MLS Team of the Week

Austin FC announced today that midfielder Diego Fagundez and Designated Player Sebastián Driussi have been named to Major League Soccer’s Team of the Week for their performances in Austin FC’s 3-1 win over the Portland Timbers at Q2 Stadium on Saturday night. 

Austin FC took the lead in the opening minutes following a penalty kick from forward Cecilio Domínguez and the Verde and Black’s second goal came just three (3) minutes later from midfielder Diego Fagundez. After receiving the ball from Fagundez, Domínguez played defender Nick Lima into open space. The right back hit a perfect cross that found the head of Fagundez and the midfielder finished in the top corner.

Fifteen minutes later, Driussi found a pocket in between Portland’s lines and fed midfielder Alex Ring the ball at the top of the box. Ring found a wide-open Jon Gallagher, but Gallagher’s shot was cleared off the line. Fagundez picked up the rebound on the endline and played it back to Driussi, who finished off the play in style to score his first goal with Austin FC. Austin maintained a Club record 3-0 lead into halftime and secured the Club’s fifth win of the season.

Up next, Austin FC will remain at Q2 Stadium for its tenth home match of the MLS 2021 regular season against FC Dallas on Sunday, August 29. The match will feature a national TV broadcast in English language on FS1 and will be regionally transmitted on radio on ALT 97.5 FM. In Spanish language the match will be on FOX Deportes and regionally transmitted on radio on TUDN Radio Austin (104.3-HD2, KLQB).

F – Adam Buksa (NE), Jeremy Ebobisse (SJ)
M – Marcelino Moreno (ATL), Rodolfo Pizarro (MIA), Ryan Gauld (VAN), Mark-Anthony Kaye (COL), Diego Fagundez (ATX)*
* – Leandro Gonzalez Pirez (MIA), Xavier Arreaga (SEA), Antonio Carlos (ORL)**
GK – Tim Melia (SKC)

Coach – Matias Almeyda (SJ)

Bench – Maxime Crepeau (VAN), Nkosi Tafari (DAL), Luciano Abecasis (SJ), Joao Paulo (SEA), Quinn Sullivan (PHI), Tajon Buchanan (NE), Sebastian Driussi (ATX)